Nicky Sohn

Composition Faculty

From ballet to opera to Korean traditional-orchestra, the wide-ranging talent of composer Nicky Sohn is sought after across the United States, Europe, and Asia. Characterized by her jazz-inspired, rhythmically driven themes, Sohn’s work has received praise from international press for being “dynamic and full of vitality” (The Korea Defense Daily), having “colorful orchestration” (NewsBrite), and for its “elegant wonder” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), among many others. As a result, Sohn has enjoyed commissions and performances from the world’s preeminent performing arts institutions, including sold-out performances at the Stuttgart Ballet in Germany, The National Orchestra of Korea, Minnesota Orchestra, Sarasota Orchestra, and the New York Choreographic Institute at New York City Ballet.


The 2020-21 season highlights consist of premieres and performances by the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, violinist Lucia Lin (Boston Symphony), string quartet commission for the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston, Carpe Diem String Quartet, and Atlanta Chamber Players. Sohn recently received fellowships from The DACAMERA Young Artist Program and MUSIQA Houston. Prior to this year, she has appeared at renowned music festivals including the Aspen Music Festival, Les Ecoles d’Art Américaines de Fontainebleau, Ars Nova with Unsuk Chin and the Seoul Philharmonic, and the Summer Festival of the Moscow Conservatory of Music, among others.


Nicky Sohn is currently pursuing a fully-funded doctoral degree at the The Shepherd School of Music of Rice University and holds degrees from Juilliard School and Mannes College of Music. Her early years are marked by a voracious eagerness to learn: Already a student of piano at the age of two, she began seriously studying composition at the age of seven. At fourteen, Sohn completed her high school diploma, and would go on to receive both a Bachelor of Music degree and a Diploma of Piano Performance from the Mannes College of Music. She is grateful to her pedagogues, which include Robert Beaser, Chris Theofanidis, Gabriela Lena Frank, and Richard Danielpour.